Who can register?

If you will be 18 years old by the next November election, are a United States
citizen and have not been convicted of a disfranchising felony.

Where can | register?

You register where you live. While you are a student living away from home you
have a choice. You can be registered at your parent’s home address or your
school address. Please keep in mind if you register at your school address you are
no longer allowed to vote at your parent’s home address unless you reregister at
that address. You are only allowed to vote at one location. This means if you
register at school you will vote at school only. That includes referenda.

Do | have to choose a party?

Primaries are held by the major parties so to vote in a primary you must belong to
that party. The major parties are Democrat and Republican.

If you choose to not join a party you are an unafilliated voter. Being unafilliated
means you may join a party and immediately belong to that party. If you arein a
party, there is a 90 day wait between the old party and the new choice if you
decide to change your status.

Minor parties do not hold primaries. You may join a minor party if you would like
to however keep in mind that the 90 day waiting period is still in effect if you
decide to change.

Choice of parties —
Democrat, Republican — major parties

A Connecticut Party, Concerned Citizens, Connecticut for Lieberman,
Conservative, Constitution, Green, Independent, Independence, Independent,
Liberal, Libertarian, Reform, Socialist Party USA, Tea Party, Whig, Working
Families — minor parties currently available in Connecticut

Unaffiliated — choice to not belong to any party




