Newtown Cultural Arts Commission

Minutes of January 12, 2023 Special Meeting
These minutes are subject to approval by the NCAC members at the next Arts Commission Meeting

The Newtown Cultural Arts Commission, held a special meeting on Thursday, January 12, 2023 in the Community Center. The meeting was called to order at 7:01 PM by Commission Chairman Laura E. Lerman.

Members present: Laura Lerman, Andrea Spencer, Roger Connor, Jennifer Cebry, Robert Kaiser, Grant Ossendryver, Daniel Ferreira, Michael Jehle

Members absent: Robin Lynch

Auxiliary members: None

Members of the Public: None

- **1. Minutes:** Grant Ossenderyver moved that the minutes of the November 3, 2022 meeting be approved: Robert Kaiser seconded. All in favor motion passed unanimously.
- 2. Officers' Reports: Chair Laura Lerman welcomed new member Michael Jehle.
- **3. Treasurer's Report:** On behalf of Treasurer Jim Cebry, Jennifer Cebry reported that the treasurer's report will be presented at the next meeting.
- **4. Election of Officers:** Slate of officers presented as Laura Lerman to continue as Chairperson and Andrea Spencer to continue as Vice Chairperson. Motion presented by Jennifer Cebry and seconded by Roger Connor. All in favor motion passed unanimously.
- **5. Reviewing By-laws:** Motion to remove the following as officer positions with responsibilities in Article IV Section 5: Secretary; Town Liaison; Treasurer; Fund Development Manager; Public Relations Manager; Communications & Marketing Manager. Motion presented by Roger Connor. Seconded by Daniel Ferreira. All in favor motion passed unanimously.
- 6. Newtown Arts Festival: Review of the responsibilities still no Chairperson; new organization chart, supporting town organizations and not for profits. Jennifer Cebry will take on the artisans/vendors in addition to being the Grounds Chair. Dan Ferreira will continue as the Band/Music Chair. Andrea Spencer will continue as Food Truck Chair and Co-Chair the Beer & Wine Tent with Warren Spencer. Linda Parsloe will manage the artwork and t-shirts. Dina Sabia will manage the Front Gate again. Robin Lynch will continue to chair the Art of Science tent. New Member Michael Jehle will be the Sponsors Manager. Laura & Ken Lerman will manage Front Entrance and Tech. Grant Ossendryver will manage volunteers during the event. Roger Connor will be in charge of Safety and Security. Still in need of a Chairperson, Web/Press/Social Media person, Make & Take activities Tent coordinator and Volunteer Coordinator. Grant Ossendryer offered his services as sound engineer/company to the festival discussion regarding previous sound company determined that they will continue.
- **7. Scholarships and Grants:** Andrea Spencer motioned to approve (3) Scholarships in the amount of \$1250 each for the 2022-23 school year. Seconded by Rob Kaiser. All in favor motion approved unanimously.
- 8. Public Participatio: NONE
- **9. Municipal Art Gallery Report:** SCAN is in the Municipal Gallery through February 2023. They are selling "small works" created and contributed by SCAN members to support and benefit the World Central Kitchen.
- 10. Other Business: NONE
- **11. Adjournment:** Motion to adjourn brought by Daniel Ferreira and seconded by Rob Kasier. All in favor motion approved unanimously at 8:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Cebry, Newtown Cultural Arts Commission