

Sandy Hook Permanent Memorial Commission Newtown High School Lecture Hall 12 Berkshire Road, Sandy Hook, CT

THESE MINUTES ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE PERMANENT MEMORIAL COMMISSION

The Sandy Hook Permanent Memorial Commission held a special meeting on Thursday, January 18, 2018 in the Newtown High School Lecture Hall. Chairman Lyddy called the meeting to order at 7:36pm and began with a moment of silence.

PRESENT: Kyle Lyddy, Joann Bacon, Joanne Brunetti, Brian Engel, Dan Krauss, Agni Pavlidou Kyprianou, Alan Martin, Sarah Middeleer, Tricia Pinto, Donna Van Waalwijk **ALSO PRESENT:** Members of the Advisory Panel: Joe Daniels, former president of the 9/11 memorial & museum, Tom Tavella, landscape architect, Pat Llodra, Bob Mitchell, Rob Sibley, three members of the public and one member of the press.

The commission began evaluating and discussing designs. Some aspects of designs that were favorable, in addition to the prior meetings, was the way the sacred soil was handled in SH141, bells or chimes, a willow tree, open, gentle areas, an unfinished wall, designs that incorporated bathrooms, covered shelter, and a viewing platform.

The following designs were unanimously voted on to eliminate from consideration:

~111=0
SH121
SH123
SH124
SH125
SH127
SH134
SH136
SH137
SH139
SH142
SH144
SH146
SH148
SH149
SH150

SH120

SH155 SH156 SH157 SH158 SH159 SH160 SH162 SH163 SH164 SH165 SH166 SH167 SH168 SH169 SH170 SH171 SH173 SH174 SH177 SH178 SH180 SH182 SH184 SH185 SH186 SH187 SH188 SH189 SH190 SH191

The following designs were eliminated from consideration, but not unanimously:

SH176: Eliminate: Lyddy, Martin, Brunetti, Pavlidou Kyprianou, Krauss, Van Waalwijk, Pinto. Keep for consideration: Bacon, Engel, Middeleer

The following designs were kept for consideration:

SH130: The commission voted 6-4 to keep for consideration. (Keep: Engel, Bacon, Kraus, Pinto, Martin,

Lyddy), (Eliminate: Middeleer, Pavlidou Kyprianou, Van Waalwijk, Brunetti)

SH141: The commission unanimously voted to keep for consideration.

SH147: The commission voted 7-3 to keep for consideration. (Keep: Lyddy, Krauss, Middeleer, Martin,

Bacon, Van Waalwijk, Engel), (Eliminate: Pavlidou Kyprianou, Pinto, Brunetti)

SH179: The commission voted 8-2 to keep for consideration (Keep: Krauss, Engel, Pinto, Bacon, Van Waalwijk, Martin, Brunetti, Middeleer), (Eliminate: Pavlidou Kyprianou, Lyddy)

Note: all design proposals will be on the website, http://www.newtown-ct.gov/sandy-hook-permanent-memorial-commission, for public viewing within a week.

MISCELLANEOUS COMMISSION DISCUSSION: The next meetings will be on February 7 and February 8 and will be held in the NHS Lecture Hall at 7:00pm. The meeting of February 8 will identify Phase 1B and discuss that process.

ADJOURNMENT: Mr. Martin moved to adjourn the special meeting at 9:37pm. Ms. Van Waalwijk seconded. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue Marcinek, clerk