Newtown Cultural Arts Commission September 13, 2018

THESE MINUTES ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE NEWTOWN CULTURAL ARTS COMMISSION AT THE NEXT MEETING.

The Newtown Cultural Arts Commission held a meeting on Thursday, September 13, 2018 at the Municipal Center

Members Present: Laura Lerman, Jennifer Cebry, Deborra Zukowski, Grant Ossendryver, Andrea Spencer, Susan Kassirer, Donna Montelone, Robert Kaiser, Tracy Van Buskirk Members Absent: None Auxiliary Member: None Public Participation: Scott Wilson

Laura Lerman called the meeting to order at 7:02 pm.

- The minutes of the August 9, 2018 meeting were approved (moved Spencer, seconded Zukowski)
- Officers' Reports: No report.
- Treasurer's Report: No report
- Public Participation: None
- Art Festival: The festival is ready to launch! Tents are up, the town helped with installation of the temporary fencing, an electrician was located at last minute. There were a few questions, but everything is ready to go.
- The Gallery: The reception for the "In the Bag" art show which will be on exhibit from September 1—28, had a huge turnout and was very well received. It will be open during the art festival. In October, three artists will have a joint show.
- Showcase at the Library: "What Can You Do at the Arts Festival?" is currently up and will be replaced with a display about the various events during October, National Arts and Humanities month.
- Grants and Scholarships: Andrea will have two posters designed by Nancy Cole at the Festival showcasing the scholarship recipients. The Friends of the Seniors, who received a grant to fund a mural, will have a gratis tent at the Festival.
- Website: Nothing new.
- Other Business: A motion was made to renew an expired membership in the Cultural Alliance of Fairfield County (moved Van Buskirk, seconded Zukowski). After a brief discussion, the motion was passed. Van Buskirk offered to be responsible for posting events with both the CAFC and the Cultural Alliance of Western Connecticut. A motion was made to appoint Scott Wilson as an auxiliary member (moved Zukowski, seconded Cebry). The motion passed.

There being no further business, it was moved (Zukowski), seconded (Spencer) and voted to adjourn the meeting at 7:31 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Tracy Van Buskirk