

SPECIAL MEETING

HATTERTOWN HISTORIC COMMISSION

TUESDAY SEPTEMBER 10 7 PM

MEETING ROOM ONE

NEWTOWN MUNICIPAL CENTER

Present: Chris Layda, Dr. Joel Malin, Joan Petersen, Chris Degen, Bruce Degen, Kelly Michael

Absent: Don Lococo

Mr. Layda moved to open the meeting and Mr. Degen seconded it at 7:00pm.

The Commission then addressed elections for officers and a review of nominations.

Mr. Degen proposed the following slate:

Chair, Mr. Layda

Vice-Chair, Dr. Malin

Secretary, Ms. Petersen

Ms. Petersen reminded the Commission that her term as secretary ended as of June 30. Mr. Degen was then nominated in her stead.

Ms. Degen called for a vote and the Commission voted in unanimity for the above slate.

Regarding nominations for an alternate seat, Mr. Layda called for an action to review the candidates. He circulated a letter of nomination from First Selectman Dan Rosenthal on behalf of Ms. Tara V. Muir, and Mr. Degen nominated Ms. Sally Jones. The Commission considered both candidates and Mr. Layda called for a vote. The Commission voted unanimously for Ms. Jones, citing her longstanding residency in the neighborhood and her broad experience on area boards. The Commission noted its appreciation for Mr. Muir's interest and will keep her nomination in mind for future vacancies.

The second and final agenda item was to commit to the Town Clerk's Office the remaining meeting dates for the year 2019: Thursday, October 10th at 7pm. As a placeholder for 2020, the Commission is holding January 20 and June 20 as the meeting dates for 2020. Ms. Petersen will submit the meeting dates for both years in separate documents to the Town Clerk's Office.

Mr. Layda closed the meeting at 7:18 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Petersen

Acting Secretary