

## Sandy Hook Permanent Memorial Commission Newtown High School Lecture Hall 12 Berkshire Road, Sandy Hook, CT

## THESE MINUTES ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE PERMANENT MEMORIAL COMMISSION

The Sandy Hook Permanent Memorial Commission held a special meeting on Thursday, January 11, 2018 in the Newtown High School Lecture Hall. Chairman Lyddy called the meeting to order at 7:35pm and began with a moment of silence.

PRESENT: Kyle Lyddy, Joann Bacon, Brian Engel, Dan Krauss, Agni Pavlidou Kyprianou, Alan Martin, Sarah Middeleer, Tricia Pinto, Donna Van Waalwijk
ABSENT: Joanne Brunetti
ALSO PRESENT: Members of the Advisory Panel: Allison Bials, Pat Llodra, Bob Mitchell, Rob Sibley,

Shavaun Towers, and one member of the public.

The commission began evaluating and discussing designs. Some aspects of designs that were favorable, in addition to the prior meeting, were a center memorial, the reflection of names in a water feature, ponds not being modified and pathways over the ponds.

#### The following designs were unanimously voted on to eliminate from consideration:

SH54
SH62
SH63
SH64
SH68
SH70
SH72
SH73
SH77
SH78
SH79
SH80
SH82
SH83
SH84
SH86
SH87

01154

SH88 SH100 SH101 SH103 SH109 SH117 SH118

## The following designs were eliminated from consideration, but not unanimously:

SH 58: All agreed to eliminate except Middeleer, Martin and Krauss, who voted to keep for consideration.SH67: All agreed to eliminate except Martin.SH 76: All agreed to eliminate except Bacon, who voted to keep for consideration.

#### The following designs were kept for consideration:

SH66: The commission unanimously voted to keep for consideration.SH81: All agreed to keep for consideration except Bacon.SH102: All agreed to keep for consideration except Bacon and Pinto.SH108: The commission unanimously voted to keep for consideration.

# *Note: all design proposals will be on the website, <u>http://www.newtown-ct.gov/sandy-hook-permanent-memorial-commission</u>, for public viewing within a week.*

**MISCELLANEOUS COMMISSION DISCUSSION:** The next meetings will be on January 17 and January 18 and will be held in the NHS Lecture Hall at 7:00pm.

**ADJOURNMENT:** <u>Mr. Martin moved to adjourn the special meeting at 9:26pm.</u> Ms. Van Waalwijk seconded. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue Marcinek, clerk