3 PRIMROSE STREET NEWTOWN, CT 06470 TEL. (203) 270-4201 FAX (203) 270-4205 www.newtown-ct.gov



TOWN OF NEWTOWN

TOWN OF NEWTOWN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL MEETING DECEMBER 6, 2017 NEWTOWN MUNICIPAL CENTER, NEWTOWN, CT

PRESENT: Kelley Johnson, Jordana Bloom, Chris Smith, Chris Eide, Robert Pickard, Judit DeStefano, Ryan Knapp, Dan Wiedemann, Paul Lundquist, Phil Carroll, Jay Mattegat, Dan Honan.

MR. HONAN MOVED TO NOMINATE AND VOTE IN PAUL LUNDQUIST AS CHAIRMAN OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL. SECOND BY MS. DESTEFANO. ALL IN FAVOR. MOTION PASSES (12-0)

MR. KNAPP MOVED TO NOMINATE AND VOTE IN DAN WIEDEMANN AS VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL. SECOND BY MR. HONAN. ALL IN FAVOR. MOTION PASSES (12-0)

MR. WIEDEMANN MOVED TO APPOINT JUNE SGOBBO AS CLERK OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL. SECOND BY MR. CARROLL. ALL IN FAVOR. MOTION PASSES (12-0).

MR. CARROLL MOVED TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE NOVEMER 15, 2017 MEETING. SECOND BY MR. WIEDEMANN, ALL IN FAVOR. MOTION PASSES (7-0) Abstained: Ms. Johnson, Ms. Bloom, Mr. Smith, Mr. Pickard, Mr. Mattegat.

MR EIDE MOVED TO ACCEPT THE 2018 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CALENDAR. SECOND BY MR. CARROLL. MR. EIDE MOVED TO AMEND THE CALENDAR TO CHANGE HEADING DATE TO 2018 AND ADD JANUARY 2, 2019 AND JANUARY 16, 2019 MEETINGS. SECOND BY MR. CARROLL. ALL IN FAVOR TO ACCEPT THE 2018 LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CALENDAR AS AMENDED TO CHANGE HEADING DATE TO 2018 AND ADD JANUARY 2, 2019 AND JANUARY 16, 2019 MEETINGS. MOTION PASSES AS AMENDED. (12-0)

MR. EIDE MOVED TO SUSPEND THE RULE OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SECTION 35510 WHICH STATES THAT THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CANNOT ACT ON AN ITEM ON THE AGENDA IF IT IS NOT NOTICED IN THE AGENDA - IN ORDER TO TAKE UP SENDING THE CIP TO THE BOARD OF SELECTMAN. SECOND BY MR. HONAN. ALL IN FAVOR OF SUSPENDING THAT RULE. MOTION PASSES. (12-0)

MR. EIDE MOVED TO REFER THE 2018-19 TO 2020-23 CIP TO THE BOARD OF SELECTMAN. SECOND BY MR. HONAN. MR. WIEDEMANN MOVED TO AMEND THE MOTION, PASS TO THE BOS, THE BOS SEND BACK TO LC AND INVITE THE BOF TO JOIN LC ON JAN 3 TO JOINTLY REVIEW.SECOND BY MR. CARROLL. MOTION TO AMEND FAILS. (9-3) Mr. Carroll, Mr. Wiedemann, Mr. Smith. MAIN MOTION TO REFER THE 2018-19 TO 2020-23 CIP TO THE BOARD OF SELECTMAN PASSES. (8-4) Mr. Ryan, Mr. Lundquist, Mr. Wiedemann, Mr. Carroll.