Public Safety Committee

As per Connecticut General Statute, "The Department of Correction shall establish a public safety committee in each municipality in which a correctional facility is located. Each committee shall be composed of the warden or superintendent of the correctional facility and representatives appointed by the chief elected official of the municipality. Each committee shall meet not less than quarterly to review correctional safety and security issues which affect the host municipality."

The Public Safety Committee (DOC/Garner) meets on the first Tuesday of March, June, September and December, at 5:00 pm in Shared Meeting Room 1 at the Newtown Municipal Center. The public is welcome to attend.

Click here to email the Public Safety Committee

Committee Members


First Selectman

James Viadero

Police Chief

Gino Faiella

School System Representative

Patrick Reilly

Board of Fire Commissioners

Jay Mattegat

Legislative Council Representative

Neil Chaudhary

Town Resident

Bruce Clark

Town Resident

H. Joy Previdi

Town Resident